top of page

A Book Recommendation

or a glorification? hahaha (or the odd list whatever)

Eniwe, it's been a while I haven't write again for this website, I'm so sorry guys, been so busy these days. Busy chasing my Sensei for my revision and being ignored *Sad*

Yeah thanks for your empathy XOXO

Oke enough for the 'sok-asik' part, for this post I wanna share the books that I have read and turned me into 'god-its-totally-my-kind-of-book' or 'uhm-yup'. There are two possibilities this post will be update (1.) I read more books and I exited to share to the world OR (2.) I don't have anything to do. Oh GOD let's just begin.


1. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

An overrated book these days, I do agree with that. But guys this book is amazing, actually I still have 100 pages to go until I finish this book, yet I can't wait to write about it. I read the ebook version and it helps me so much since it allows me to translate, bookmark, highlight, and do screenshots. I don't know what other people's motives to read this book but for me, it's helping me to connect the dots. It helps me to understand the history, concepts and gets the information (yeah I heard some people read it to looks edgy (which I don't know WHY), I hate them too. Moreover, if they insist us to read ughh). If you ask me why I like this book, I can say its because of the 'style of language' ugh I don't know the English phrase for 'gaya bahasa'. Many times I found the sarcasm and it makes this book more interesting, this book doesn't try to ignore your basic knowledge. Believes me, this book is walking side by side with you and slowly adds you. I know some people who being an instant 'smart-ass' after reading this book and proclaimed they know how this universe is working, I swear I hate them. But still, I want to recommend this book to you because it talks about many things in very fun ways.


2. Nature Anatomy: The Curious Part & Pieces of The Natural World by Julia Rothman

Basically I love the illustration, its so freakin beautiful. Generally, it talks about everything from the anatomy of this earth, plant, and animal. Reading once it is not enough, though the explanation is not complete (I can say this in the part of the anatomy of wood) the illustration is just great, I personally love the combination of the color. Another book from Julia Rothman that I like but haven't finish yet is Hello NY, same reason with the previous book I craving for the illustration. Though I haven't finished it, but so far I love the way she explains about the city, the foods, the famous places. Definitely you have to check these two gems if you love illustrated books. Oh yah, I read the ebook version and looking forward to have the printed one in the future (AMEN).


3. Do I have to put Raditya Dika's book in here? I loved all of them equally. Go grab some of it if you want to cheer up your day.


4. Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon

Nothing more motivate me to do art better than this book. Austin Kleon comes up with bold and simple messages, it makes this book easy to understand for everyone (I guess?). Beside of big font, there are also long explanations about some topics, I think Austin wants to give better elaboration. Read this book in the ebook version. Peace.

Another book from Austin is Show Your Work!, been checking on my Goodreads and I gave 3/5 stars. Actually I don't really remember what's inside of this book. I luckily borrowed this book from my friend, 1st book is okay but not for this one.


5.The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

Another overrated book, the content and the point on this book is clear enough. I suggest you to read the original version, not the Indonesian version since it hit you harder. Well, that's all.


6. The A.B.C. Murders by Agatha Christie

I read this book from 1st pages until the last when I have a vacation in 2018. I read the printed one, the book is pretty small. Borrowed from my sister in law, shes just crazy with Agatha Christie that I don't get it. 1st reason is I don't get it how the main actor jumps into a conclusion based on his assumption (?) and the evidences (which doesn't make sense for me). Maybe this is how I stop reading another story. LOL

The only book I recommend for detective things is Detective Conan hahahaha still wondering when the newest comic comes huh.

Seems that I'm too dumb for Agatha Christie series (?)


7. Collen Hoover Novels

Simple love stories bring to you. There are many books by Collen Hoover but If I can recommend one book, I'll choose It End with Us. I love how he develops the story and the style for telling the story. I personally enrich my vocabulary by consuming this book. The story not so long and as I can remember it excites me in every chapter. Another book I read: The Confess, Maybe Someday, November 9, Ugly Love and Without Merit. Warning it chessy af.


8.Poems Book

I love all series from:

a. Lang Leav ( The Universe of Us, Love and Misadventure, Memories and Lullabies)

b. R.H Sins ( A Beautiful Composition of Broken, Whiskey Words and A Shovel I&II, and Rest in the Mourning)

c. Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey, and The Sun and Her Flowers)

Definitely doest get it the right messages from these stack of the book but I just love the choices of the word the use in the poems. Somehow it different from the usual word that we commonly use for communication (ya iyalah) and yes it widens your beautiful vocabulary.


to be continued....

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tahun 2022

Bukittinggi, 12 November 2022 Gila tahun 2022 udah mau berakhir aja, tinggal 2 bulan lagi. Dan sayaa masih hidup sodara-sodara hahahaha walaupun sebenernya akhir-akhir ini rasanya dah mau koid karena

Hello Again

1st May 2021 Haiiii it's been a while since I log in to this website and write something. Don't worry my life been great, I just don't know what to do in this time. Yes I'm still in the middle of COVI

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page