top of page

Review The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck by Mark Manson


source picture: google

29th March 2019

Tomorrow I just finished this book, I read the English one. I really want to read this book since last year but I just got this book two months ago and just finished it today. First time I look at this book was in the bookstore near my campus, this book is like an orange in the middle of black paper, I don't know why I said like this hahaha I try to say that this book is eye-catching not only because of it's orange color but also because of the title. People said don't judge the book by its cover but this book even already stole my heart before I read it. Because somehow I feel that this book is (or at least the title) is similar to my life principle and make me laugh when I read the title like

'what the hell, who wrote this?!'

'I need this, I need this yes definitely!'

But still at that time, I put it off, I didn't buy it, I don't know why I think I buy another book.

But thanks to my friend because of her I can read it.

So actually is not that I need this but I can use this book as a confirmation for all my actions in this life like finally there is a writer name Mark Manson who harshly state with this book

'The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck'. What I think all this time is people just giving a f*ck but actually Mark Manson said there is an art of it? How cool is that?

The gender of this book is anti-self-help and non-fiction, around 144 pages with 9 chapters.

I can say this book is different from another motivational book that I have read before. Every idea in this book is so keen, their words are honest and so fun, I laugh many times when I read this book. This book makes me confused because as I said before the words are honest, it means Mark Manson is not giving an effort to sugarcoat the word. It delivers just like that. This book simply tells us that life sucks and it makes us admit it, and everyone experiences it with their very own problem. Mark Manson is like born to tell us about this fact and in this era when the technology is so fast and the phrase 'you-can-do-everything-you-want' is popular especially for my generation. Because everything is easy today and everything in every sector now is in crazy-amazing standard and makes my generation somehow feel stress? because nowadays society illusory can't accept the ordinary result and always demanding more and more when we are just an ordinary human who has limitation.

For the illustration today you have to be beautiful, an expert in the theory of relativity by Einstein, have a good personality, accepted in at least two University League of Legends, can make perfect egg benedict and can play yoyo, so at least this society can count you in. Mark Manson wants us to realize that this is just an illusion and this is was f*ucking not real, to prove it he provides some cases from well-known people experience and his own experience to convince his reader.

Personally, slowly I'm feeling tired too and reading this book is like finding someone who has the same anxiety as me. I feel calm.

For all my friends I recommend this book to read. But please don't expect this book will help you to always positive all the time (cause you are not f*cking living in a fairy tale) otherwise this book makes you accept this un-perfect life, not everyone has to reach what Alfa Edison or Einstein reach and if you can't you feel like a failed product. This book wants to tell us that we are just enough. I like this sentence in the last chapter the most


"you are already great because in the face of endless confusion and certain death, you continue to choose what to give a fuck about what not to"


3.9/5.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tahun 2022

Bukittinggi, 12 November 2022 Gila tahun 2022 udah mau berakhir aja, tinggal 2 bulan lagi. Dan sayaa masih hidup sodara-sodara hahahaha walaupun sebenernya akhir-akhir ini rasanya dah mau koid karena

Hello Again

1st May 2021 Haiiii it's been a while since I log in to this website and write something. Don't worry my life been great, I just don't know what to do in this time. Yes I'm still in the middle of COVI

A Book Recommendation

or a glorification? hahaha (or the odd list whatever) Eniwe, it's been a while I haven't write again for this website, I'm so sorry guys, been so busy these days. Busy chasing my Sensei for my revisio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page